Discover Windows 7 Launch Event

The lucky few Microsoft partners had our chance to check out Windows 7 at the launch event “Discover Windows 7” yesterday, 13/10/09.

It was hosted by James Mathison of Channel V and Australian Idol fame, who apparently worked in tech support for Dell at some stage in the past (at least in reasoning why he was hosting the event)

While I didn’t win anything or learn anything new about Windows 7 I still had a great time checking out the new hardware that Acer, ASUS, HP, Sony and Toshiba are releasing next week with Windows 7.

I’m still not sold on Windows Mobile 6.5, it doesn’t look that flash to me and unfortunately flash is what sells, I mean look at the iPhone which is mostly just flashy stuff and cute icons.

Sony has a new ultra thin laptop coming out which is half the size of the Mac Book Air which is just totally amazing and I so want one.  As I cant find any links to the hardware because it doesn’t launch until next week, I cant put any up. But if I do come across some I’ll be sure to post them.

Ok, I’ve found via engadget the Toshiba laptops that I saw at the launch
http://www.engadget.com/2009/10/14/toshiba-announces-touchscreen-notebooks-netbooks-for-windows-7/

and here is some Acer products
http://www.engadget.com/2009/10/14/acer-aspire-5738pg-wants-you-to-reach-out-and-touch-its-screen/

http://www.engadget.com/2009/10/15/acer-debuts-stylish-multitouch-enabled-aspire-z5610-all-in-one/

About Phill McSherry
Phill McSherry has been working in the Australian IT industry for over 20 years and is the technical manager and solutions architect for managed services provider Titan Solutions - www.titansolutions.com.au

Leave a Reply

