Server Room Surprises

 

Last week I gave myself the task of cleaning out the server/store room. While I am not a fan of having the server room as a store room, its not my room or equipment so I have no say in the matter. Anyway while cleaning up the place I came across a bunch of old software and equipment that I was really very surprised to see in there.

Firstly a bunch of backups of the server… from 1995 – 1999…. on CD! Yes thats right, CD. Ok so find a box and through them all in there for archiving.

Next on the list is a Compaq C140 Ultra portable computer circa 1997…awesome!… docking station… more awesome… still works… bigger awesome….. wait… hold on… what am I going to use it for?

Compaq C140 Ultra Portable

I also uncovered some old and forgotten software, first up iSYS ver 5, boasting 32-bit for Windows 95! I have never used iSYS in the present or the past. So apart from the age of the software I dont really have anything to add. Maybe someone on eBay would want it? haha

iSYS Version 5

Also on the list is Adobe Acrobat Professional 4 which is boasting that it works with Windows Office! So thats handy to have, again maybe eBay

Adobe Acrobat 4

Finally on the software front are a bunch of Microsoft and Lotus disks, which I am keeping. Why? I do not know

In closing I have 1 final picture, which was not found in the server room, but in the laptop bag of a recently fired employee

Laptop Bag Surprise

Yes there condoms and all I can figure is, when he told work to go fuck itself, to at least use protection!

About Phill McSherry
Phill McSherry has been working in the Australian IT industry for over 20 years and is the technical manager and solutions architect for managed services provider Titan Solutions - www.titansolutions.com.au

One Response to Server Room Surprises

  1. I don’t usually comment on blogs but had to on yours. You have a very distinctive writing style. I don’t have time to read it all right now, I found this site when looking for something else on Yahoo, but I’ve bookmarked your homepage and will visit again soon to see the latest news. Visit my site if you’d like to read more. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

