Windows 7 Deployment Success!

Apologies for not updating for months but I have been thrust into a Windows 7 deployment since December.

I had to design the SOE for work from the ground up and learn Window Server 2008 R2 and Altiris Deployment Solutions at the same time. Lots of document writing and alot more to come.

I must say it was a great experience for me, but carrying the success or failure of this whole project solely on my shoulders wasn’t without its stressful points, but for the most part I had a blast.

I’ve been quite impressed that this site has been getting 10 or so hits a day even with the few updates that are on it, but that should change soon as I want to document alot of what I found during the SOE design and pilot process as there seems to be so little information online about Windows 7 deployment to the enterprise.

I also have a few other projects coming up including replacing our Exchange 2003 server with Exchange 2010 and redesigning the DR centre, so I’m going to be busy for a few more months yet.

I deployed Windows 7 SOE the weekend before Easter and apart from the few little problems that you will always get, things seem to be running well and everyone is happy.

I had some fun and games, mostly with Cisco and there incompatibility with x64 bit technology, which caused me to totally redesign everything, so no x64 bit Windows 7 until Cisco gets its act together with WebEx.

The new environment is Windows 7 x86 bit with Office 2007 Standard with Bitlocker encryption and McAfee VirusScan Enterprise controlled by EPO. Software deployment is managed by Altiris Deployment Solutions on Windows Server 2008 R2.

PCV

About Phill McSherry
Phill McSherry has been working in the Australian IT industry for over 20 years and is the technical manager and solutions architect for managed services provider Titan Solutions - www.titansolutions.com.au

Leave a Reply

