Practical PowerShell for IT Admins of SMBs

Powershell

I’ll be the first to admit that I have never really seen much of a use for PowerShell where I work, mostly due to the size of the company.

Administering a site of about 100 users I know them all by name and what there needs are from there IT Dept. Everything I have read about PowerShell either involves some kind of repetitive task or bulk upload of information and is impractical on a smaller scale. Other PowerShell examples highlight tasks that I can do manually just as easily and the time saved by using PowerShell versus doing it manually is minimal. This is frustrating for me because I want to use PowerShell, I want to see what the fuss is about, so I am taking a challenge to figure out what I can use PowerShell for and of course write the code for it.

So with that I’m starting my most ambitious project to date, to blog about this subject for a period of time to make it a series of worthwhile articles!

Wish me luck

PCV

About Phill McSherry
Phill McSherry has been working in the Australian IT industry for over 20 years and is the technical manager and solutions architect for managed services provider Titan Solutions - www.titansolutions.com.au

Leave a Reply

