Apple iPhone: About unlocking

iPhone - Unlocking

Back in August of 2010, I had to unlock my iPhone. The process was pretty straightforward, call Telstra and have them unlock the iPhone. They send a code to Apples servers which then unlocks your iPhone when you sync with iTunes.

The image below shows the message I got when I plugged my iPhone into iTunes once my carrier had unlocked it.

iPhone Unlocked

Fast forward 2 and a bit years and while trying to get iPhones unlocked for work, I don’t get this confirmation message anymore. If I check with a different SIM, I can confirm that it has indeed been unlocked, but I just don’t get the confirmation message.

While its a hassle to swap SIMs to confirm that it has been unlocked, its not a big deal, but of course, my manager would prefer that this confirmation message is displayed to make her feel more comfortable about it being unlocked.

Upon further investigation I found this document from Apple KB HT5014.

Step 3 is what surprises me the most, because you never had to do this.

iPhone - Unlocking Step 3

So thank you Apple for making my life more difficult just so I can get a stupid message to come up in iTunes

@PCVirus_AU
Titan Solutions

About Phill McSherry
Phill McSherry has been working in the Australian IT industry for over 20 years and is the technical manager and solutions architect for managed services provider Titan Solutions - www.titansolutions.com.au

Leave a Reply

