Backup Exec 2012 Deduplication VS Windows Server 2012 Deduplication

Please note that Backup Exec 2012 is currently UNSUPPORTED on Windows Server 2012

I was curious about how the Backup Exec 2012 deduplication functionality would work under Windows Server 2012, so I setup a couple of servers to test this out.

 

The Configuration

On my Backup server, I created 2 drives and configured Backup Exec disk storage for both of them, 1 with standard disk storage, and the other with Deduplicaiton disk storage.

0002            0001

I then installed the Backup Exec 2012 remote agent for Windows on a Windows Server 2012 server and configured two jobs. One going to Disk storage 0001, and one going to Deduplication disk storage 0001.

image

The files that I will be backing up total to 13.9 GB, the files are purposely duplicated otherwise this would all be pointless.

image

The Backup Exec Results

Once both backup jobs had completed I compared the amount of space used in each folder, first by the folder properties in Windows and then with the backup job properties.

0006      image

0005        image

Here we can see the duplication ratio of 1.8:1 or 55.6% (I used this site to convert to a percentage)

The Windows 2012 Deduplication Results

On the server that I have been backing up, I created a new drive and configured it for Windows 2012 deduplication. I then copied all the files over to this drive, and let the deduplication run its course.

Coming back the next day, I checked the progress on the drive and found that the dedup stats where in!

image

As you can see, the SavingsRate is 55% and the OptimizedFilesSavingsRate is 56%. I’d say that the 55.6% of Backup Exec Deduplication sits comfortably in the middle of the savings rates in Windows.

While obviously you would these 2 deduplication options in different circumstances, its good to know that the savings being afforded to you are extremely close. I think this is also a good example of how good the deduplication technology in Backup Exec 2012 really is.

If you have any questions, comments or suggestions, please let me know by leaving a message or hitting me up on twitter.

@PCVirus_AU
Titan Solutions

About Phill McSherry
Phill McSherry has been working in the Australian IT industry for over 20 years and is the technical manager and solutions architect for managed services provider Titan Solutions - www.titansolutions.com.au

6 Responses to Backup Exec 2012 Deduplication VS Windows Server 2012 Deduplication

  1. Great stuff Phill! I know you’re in there already, but for your readers who want to take a good look at the future of Backup Exec, join the beta at http://bit.ly/11ncNuh

    Some of the highlights include
    Protection of Windows Server 2012 servers using the Agent for Windows.
    Updated protection of SQL
    Protection of Exchange 2013 (Non-GRT only)
    Support for Exchange 2010 SP3 (pending final release from Microsoft)
    Protection of SharePoint Server 2013 (Non-GRT only)
    Support for VMware vSphere 5.1

    Phill is a great source of info. If I can add to his knowledge, hit me up at @PackMatt73

  2. N.Sterckmans says:

    A reblogué ceci sur Maitrise de la sauvegarde and commented:
    Un bon post sur un test de déduplication BackupExec 2012 Vs Windows 2012

  3. N.Sterckmans says:

    Dear Phill, I will translate your test on my blog for French Reader, thanks a lot for your Post.
    Regards……

  4. Pingback: Déduplication : Backup Exec 2012 Vs Windows 2012 « Maitrise de la sauvegarde

  5. Tim Weddell says:

    Great post thanks,
    I wonder though if you were using the window’s dedup if the managing the backup sets would be more efficient, as currently the dedup data is stored in some type of SQL variant. The management of the dedup in BE isn’t very good and it is very slow. There is no utility to clean, shrink or manage the dedup storage at all.

Leave a Reply

