Unable to Connect to ESXi Host with WinSCP

Just a quick little blog post as I had this issue with connecting to 3 ESXi hosts at the client site I am visiting for the next couple of weeks.

Out of the 20 odd hosts I’ve connected to, I am getting this error on 3, which all happen to be VMware ESXi 4.1

“Cannot initialize SFTP protocol. Is the host running a SFTP server?”

clip_image002

The solution to this is simple, but of course I couldn’t find setting for 5 minutes….

Once I located the setting that was right in front of me the whole time, I changed the protocol from SFTP to SCP and I was able to connect to 3 ESXi servers that I was having issues with

WinSCP

@PCVirus_AU
Titan Solutions

About Phill McSherry
Phill McSherry has been working in the Australian IT industry for over 20 years and is the technical manager and solutions architect for managed services provider Titan Solutions - www.titansolutions.com.au

One Response to Unable to Connect to ESXi Host with WinSCP

  1. vmsrn says:

    Thank you so much…it helped 🙂

Leave a Reply

