Windows Live Writer – Error Accessing Local Post

Windows Live Writer 2012

I use Windows Live Writer 2012 running on a Windows 8 Pro machine to post my blog posts onto WordPress. In the past I have had no problems with doing this, but when I tried to write up a post yesterday I was stuck with the following error while trying to save a local draft.

Windows Live Writer Error 1

Error Accessing Local Post. Unexpected error occurred while accessing local post (TargetInvocationException). Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.

Ok, so I tried to post directly to my blog without saving a draft. This presented me with the following error.

Windows Live Writer Error 2

An unexpected error has occurred while attempting to log in:

The type initializer for ‘WindowsLive.Writer.CoreServices.HttpRequestHelper’ threw an exception.

Well that didn’t work out either, So off to Google I go.

The first hit that I find is from surfing the EtHeR. This post is from November 2007 so I initially has hesitant to look at it as it was so old. Reading through this post I was directed to the MSDN blog Enforcing FIPS Certified Cryptography from 2005.

Navigating through the registry I found HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa\FipsAlogorithmPolicy and noted that it was Enabled.

Windows Live Writer Resolution 1

Once I disabled this setting (by changing the REG_DWORD Data value to 0, and restarting Windows Live Writer, I was able to save drafts and publish to my blog once again.

This certainly was a strange once and considering the age of the posts involved I am surprised that it still worked, and that it is still an issue in the first place.

@PCVirus_AU
Titan Solutions

About Phill McSherry
Phill McSherry has been working in the Australian IT industry for over 20 years and is the technical manager and solutions architect for managed services provider Titan Solutions - www.titansolutions.com.au

Leave a comment